Houston County Courthouse
304 South Marshall Street
Caledonia, MN  55921


County Commissioners

The elected Commissioners who serve the County of Houston are a dedicated group who put serving the public above all else. "We are committed to providing exceptional citizen service at all times."

The administrative functions of Houston County are embodied in a Board of County Commissioners with each of the five members elected from a commissioner district within the county. The Board is in overall charge of the county's affairs, the county road system, county property and finances. The Board has the power to make appropriations for the needed expenditures of the county and to levy taxes.

The County Auditor serves as the board’s clerk and the County Attorney as its legal advisor. Board meetings are held at 9:00 a.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month, and at 5:30 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month.

The Commissioners presently elected to serve are:

District 1:   Jack Miller
                    758 Shore Acres Road
                    La Crescent, MN 55947
                    (507) 895-4363

District 2:    Justin Zmyewski
                    18158 State 16
                    Houston, MN  55943
                    (507) 450-8297

District 3:    Vacant

District 4:    Teresa Walter
                    550 Skunk Hollow Road
                    La Crescent, MN  55947
                    (507) 895-2446

District 5:    Fred Arnold
                    15283 State 44
                    Caledonia, MN 55921
                    (507) 498-3284

While Commissioners, like other county officers, are elected to four-year terms, two districts elected Commissioners in 1998 (the second and fourth districts) and the other three districts elected Commissioners in 2000, so that the membership of the entire Board cannot be changed in one election.

To see the most current information click on the link below or the map.  Once in Beacon, select Commmssioners Districts from the left side.



Home Employment Disclaimer Contact Us

© Copyright 2011-2012 - Houston County, Minnesota

Problems with the site?